When I was sixteen

When I was sixteen

When I was sixteen, I felt like the whole world was against me.

My nan died a few months before my sixteenth birthday, so that year was filled with grief for the second mum that I had lost. She never got to see me turn sixteen, leave school or attend my prom.

After a physical fight between my mum and stepdad (not the first,) I finally called the police on him. Looking back now I know that what I did was the right thing, but at the time we lost our home and were struggling financially. We would have usually turned to my nan to help us out and take us in, but she was gone and we felt lost.

Over the years my life has slowly improved, although all of this has left me struggling with depression, but I’m just so glad that my sixteenth year is behind me now.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Only Sixteen | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Only Sixteen | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Playing Adult | pussy has furballs

Leave a Reply

